Call Us: 252-728-1208

RECENT POSTS

Check out the latest posts from Cummings & Kennedy's Carteret County law blog.

Is It Ok To Plead Guilty To A DWI?

  • By James Cummings
  • Feb 17, 2015

When you are pulled over for DWI, the experience can be scary and confusing. What you need to know is that before you can be charged, the police must have probable cause to believe that you are driving under the influence of an impairing substance. This means the authorities have to have proof that your blood alcohol level at the time of driving is over the legal limit. In North Carolina, the legal limit is 0.08%, and is typically determined by a Breathalyzer or blood test. DWI cases are complex, but you can beat the charges with the right defense strategy.

The strategy that works best for you depends on the circumstances of your case. What works for your friend or neighbor, may not necessarily be the best way to defend you. Consider the case of suspended Cleveland Browns star Josh Gordon:

Gordon recently made the decision to enter a guilty plea to his North Carolina DWI. In exchange, the player received a 12 month unsupervised probationary period. The fine imposed on Gordon is $100.00, and he is also responsible for $290.00 in Court costs. Entering a guilty plea can lead to favorable results, such as lenient probation terms or no jail time. But you should only agree to plead guilty after consulting an experienced attorney. To determine how to best proceed in your matter, a skilled DWI defense attorney is necessary. Experienced attorneys investigate the facts of your case and suggest solutions that work for you.

For more information about how to fight a DWI, call a North Carolina criminal defense lawyer for answers to your questions. We explain your options and help you make decisions that fit your circumstances. Our approach is tailored to the specific facts of your case.

Categories