First-Time DWI Offenses in Carteret County
Working Tirelessly on Your Behalf to Protect Your Future
In North Carolina, driving while impaired, also known as a DWI, can potentially pack some rather severe penalties, even for a first-time offense. If you were arrested and charged with a DWI, the knowledgeable criminal defense team at Cummings & Kennedy Law Firm, PLLC in Carteret County can provide the skilled and aggressive legal representation you need to obtain the best possible outcome for your case. Our team includes the experience of a former prosecutor, so you can rely on our unique insight to build a strong defense on your behalf.
DWI Laws in North Carolina
In North Carolina, you could be charged with a DWI if you are driving under the influence of an impairing substance or if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit (0.08 percent). For those who have a CDL and are driving a commercial vehicle, the legal limit is 0.04 percent. Minors are held to a zero-tolerance policy and could be arrested if any amount of alcohol is detected in their blood or breath. You may also face DWI charges if there are any Schedule 1 controlled substances in your system.
Penalties for a First-Time DWI Offense
There are many factors that could impact the penalties you may face for a first-time DWI conviction.
Below are some examples of factors that could play a role in your case:
- Dangerous or reckless driving
- A BAC of 0.15 or more
- An accident caused by negligent driving
- Driving with a minor in the vehicle during your first offense
- Severely injuring someone at the time of your offense
For a first-time offense in North Carolina, you may face the following penalties, depending on the details of your case:
- Level Five DWI: Between 24 hours to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $200
- Level Four DWI: Between 48 hours to 120 days in jail and a fine of up to $500
- Level Three DWI: Between 72 hours to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000
- Level Two DWI: Between 7 days to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000
- Level One DWI: Between 30 days to 2 years in jail and a fine of up to $4,000
- Aggravated Level One DWI: Between a year to 3 years in jail and a fine of up to $10,000
Speak to an Experienced DWI Attorney About Your Case Today!
Even for a first-time DWI offense, the impact on your future can be substantial, which is why you must obtain skilled legal counsel. Let the knowledgeable team at Cummings & Kennedy Law Firm, PLLC in Carteret County help you!
Call our law office today at (252) 518-4330 to schedule a free initial consultation.
“They make you feel very confident and explain clearly how they plan to handle to situation you're in. If i ever need a lawyer again i know for a fact, they're on my side.”
“Mr. Kennedy was an excellent representative and very professional in all our interactions. He kept a solid line of communication and worked with me to help me achieve the best outcome in my case in Carteret County. I would definitely recommend.
“When I met with other big attorneys in the area, they acted like they could care less, when I met with Mr. Kennedy, he listened intently, didn't rush me, and then seemed genuinely concerned about what my son was facing.”
“I highly recommend this law firm. Mr. Kennedy got all of my charges dismissed in court. He is very professional will do everything in order to ensure the best possible outcome.
“Very convenient and professional definitely would recommend especially if it's your first speeding ticket in years.”
In-House Medical Advisor & Investigator
Strong Relationships with Local Judges & Prosecutors
Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
Continuous Generations of Attorneys Since 1995